## Merrill Area Public Schools Special Board of Education Meeting June 5, 2023 – Minutes

The meeting was called to order by President Kevin Blake at 5:30 p.m. in the Merrill Area Public Schools Board of Education room.

Board members present: Nubs Ashbeck, Kevin Blake, Jacqueline Gremler, Chad Krueger, Ron Liberty, Kendra Osness, Brett Woller, and Linda Yingling (a quorum was present). Board members absent: Paul Proulx. Others present: Trisha Detert, Merrill High School Principal; Megan Kautzer, Merrill High School Associate Principal; Jamie Jaeger, Resource Officer; Shannon Murray, Superintendent; Karen Baker, Director of Special Education and Pupil Services; and Sarah Fuchs, Recorder.

President Blake announced an executive (closed) session pursuant to Wisconsin Statutes under Sections 19.85(1) (a) deliberating concerning a case which was the subject of any judicial or quasi-judicial trial or hearing before that governmental body; (f) considering financial, medical, social or personal histories or disciplinary data of specific persons, preliminary consideration of specific personnel problems or the investigation of charges against specific persons except where par. (b) applies which, if discussed in public, would be likely to have a substantial adverse effect upon the reputation of any person referred to in such histories or data, or involved in such problems or investigations; and, 118.125 for the purpose of conducting hearings on recommended student expulsions that may involve discussions of confidential student records, and to discuss other matters involving student records and personal histories that, if discussed in public, would likely have a substantial adverse effect on the reputations of the persons discussed. The purpose of the closed session is the following: conduct one (1) student expulsion hearing, deliberate, and act regarding the same. President Kevin Blake asked for a contemplated motion to go into closed session. MOTION by Osness, second by Liberty. Motion carried on a roll call vote (Aye: Linda Yingling, Brett Woller, Kendra Osness, Ron Liberty, Chad Krueger, Jacqueline Gremler, Kevin Blake, and Nubs Ashbeck) (Nay: None).

MOTION by Woller, second by Osness to adjourn at 6:13 p.m.

Kendra Osness Board Clerk Sarah Fuchs Recorder